top of page
  • Writer's pictureNahaleh Doroudian

That Mamba Mentality

If you've grown up watching basketball and specifically ONE of the greatest players of all time, then you know I am referring to the incredible Kobe Bryant. I must say that it is quite an honor to have grown up during his entire realm with the Lakers with him living less than 15 miles away from me. While I studied for my Brokers exam in his early years, I would see him living his daily, normal life driving around and enjoying his surroundings. He truly deserved all that he accomplished. Since his passing, I have been blessed to be somehow connected to his spirit. Maybe it's because him and my grandmother, whom I cherish and love everyday, share a common space where they are buried. Maybe it's because I have been guided to spend more time in the Newport and Corona Del Mar area. Maybe it's all connected especially since a couple weeks ago marks yet another anniversary of him, Gigi and their friends that have passed. Maybe it's because I was finally ready to truly understand him. See, I had a love/dislike relationship with Kobe ever since he joined the Lakers. I grew up watching the OGs from Magic, Vlade, Eddie, Van Excel and Ceballos. When he came in I saw an arrogant kid trying to be like Mike. Michael Jordan was and will always be for me the greatest player to have ever played the game. So I was territorial and I'm not even from Chi town. Anyway, I was all in for my team and having Kobe in it was truly the missing piece to bring all the joy, tears, screams, cheers and ecstatic memories through watching games and championships year after year. It wasn't until a month ago I REALLY got to know this kid. It started with his number showing up everywhere. I mean to the point that it really got my attention. Then I went to a restaurant in Corona Del Mar and see an option for the Kobe Bowl. I mean how have I never seen this before? The lady said it was named after him because that was his favorite order. Ok. So then I was led to his documentary I had never heard of called "Muse." That's when I really got it and laid my mixed feelings for him to rest (no pun intended). I heard his entire story from HIM. His words. Him growing up in Italy and how basketball was how he found solace in his early years and future years to come. Him struggling with making the right decision to go into the NBA right out of high school. Him playing through sickness and injuries for the love of the game and to be a role model for others. Him setting his mind to come back from an achilles injury so late in his career and TRULY coming back stronger than ever. Him dealing with making mistakes especially the biggest mistake that was talked about for a while BUT also the way he developed the Mamba aka "Mamba Mentality." That mentality was a gift. It was his alter ego. We all have it. It's the one we step into when it's time to make things happen and shift our FOCUS. The key is the focus. So that "mistake" was taking his focus off the game and when he stepped into the mamba out there on the court, the haters, the booers, and the critics all fueled him instead of leading to his failure. He made his MIND up that he was going to prevail and he did.


So where am I going with this? "I'm not Kobe Bryant" you may say. That's a cop out. Kobe just happened to find his passion and focused on it all day everyday. He didn't let his failures get the best of him. He dealt with them, he faced them and then he rose up. This is what we "humans" do everyday. He wasn't just given a gift and got "lucky." He was blessed to have taken something that sparked his passion and nourished it, fed it, gave love to it and it grew to be extraordinary. I want us all to think of what our spark or passion is and try to do the same. You may have 20 sparks. So what? Start with one and nourish it, feed it, love it and see if you have that passion for it. If not, move to your next spark. We can all channel that Mamba Mentality if we want to succeed. Succeed for ourselves. When you feel your spark and passion, you feel successful. When you create that sense of success, you then become an inspiration and beacon of light for others. That's what Kobe was for so many. He wanted the young kids and even the adults to see him and be inspired. That you can make it through sickness. That you can't let your mishaps define you but instead fuel you. That you and him are both living this life in the best way that you can. In hopes of inspiring so many others. They say words don't teach so teach through action. I can say that has truly been my way of living. I've tried to teach with words and some get it and most don't. I carry a profound quote from one of my favorite Persian poets Rumi and he says it best, "Yesterday I was clever, so I wanted to change the world. Today I am wise, so I'm changing myself." I have used this quote many times in my writings but I feel that it's important to share it again. When I change myself, I have the chance to inspire others to do the same one minute, hour, day, week, month, year at a time.


I have been blessed to have had so many mentors and have been able to surround myself even more recently with those I truly feel channel that Mamba Mentality. We look at all of these superstars and think they got "lucky" or that it could never happen for us. Unfortunately, we have been selling ourselves short. Too scared to take chances, too scared to make changes, too scared to be rejected, too scared to come up short, too scared to FAIL, too scared to follow our dreams, too scared of disapproval, and the list goes on and on. Why have we imprisoned ourselves? Why do we see ourselves as plain and ordinary? We are truly so far from that. We have the ability to create new worlds! We are connected to the entire Universe! I mean isn't that incredible? We have grown up carrying these thoughts of lack from our parents, caregivers, society, teachers and the media. Our thoughts turn into things. No one taught me that growing up. I was just creating good and bad not knowing any better. As Abraham Hicks always says, "be a deliberate creator." Meaning, know what you want to create in life. Know you want to create health for yourself, healthy relationships, bring in money, joy, and loving people into your life. YOU CAN. Yes YOU can. You are the only person that can do it. No one else can do it for you. Others can only INSPIRE you. We need to laugh more and fear less. The more you laugh, see the beauty, love and blessings around you, the more the chemicals in your brain change. Yes, the "happy" chemicals like dopamine and serotonin. Try it. Stop watching the news, scary shows or films, social media and dedicate just 7 days to watching comedies and uplifting shows. Or even dedicating those days to taking nature walks. See what happens. See if your mood is better. See if you feel inspired to create something or get an idea. Stop holding yourself back from life. There are so many beautiful blessings out there to focus on instead of all the bad things. If you tell me that I have to face reality and know bad things are out there, I will tell you that the only way to create a space of love is to only see love around me. I can't be more unhealthy to help others. I can't be filled with fear to help others rise. I can only focus on the good since I have already spent a good amount of years living in fear. I'm done living in fear. I'm done feeling mediocre. I want to be free. I want peace and harmony in my life. I want love and healthy relationships around me. As Ariana Grande sings in her song "I want it, I got it." You can get it too. You really can. The question is...HOW BADLY DO YOU WANT IT?? Usually people wait until they hit rock bottom to make a change. I'm suggesting you not wait that long and start today. Unless its midnight, then start tomorrow. You get it. Stop making excuses and make ONE simple change. If you need help, call on Kobe. Seriously...I do. This past week I've called on him a few times to channel his Mamba energy and mentality and I got it. What do you have to lose? You don't even have to tell anyone you're talking to him! I mean when he comes in clutch for you (like he did countless times for so many of his fans), don't forget to thank him. I do. So, I want to take this moment to thank you Kobe. I didn't give you enough credit, but then again, I wasn't in the right mind frame nor was it the right time to understand or hear you and that's ok. I am in the right mindset now. I want to thank you for your passion, your dedication to the sport you loved most and your beautiful family. I want to thank you for your toughness and most importantly your mentality. Although you are no longer physically with us, your spirit and light will always be with us, in our hearts and memories. Your messages will live on for all those who need some courage, encouragement and a little Mamba"ness" in their lives. I hope I did you justice. Thank you for all of it and in your honor..."Persian Mamba Out." Mic drop....




bottom of page